Should I stay or Should I go?

I live in Washington State, and my parents, in-laws, and only sibling live in the Midwest.  It’s too expensive to travel with my husband and 4 kids to visit all the time, so usually I see my parents once every couple of years.  They don’t like to fly, and I would be scared to death if they tried to drive over here – fearing for the lives of not only other drivers, but theirs as well.  So…as we begin a new phase in our lives and my husband is about to retire from the Army, I am faced with the decision to stay in a city that I love, or to move closer to home and help my parents in their later years.  I have invested much of my time and energy in a job that I love, and I’m really good at it.  I’ve also become quite involved in my community as a volunteer event planner for several different non-profit organizations – my heart is officially torn.  Doubt

It’s like the old Clash song goes…”Should I stay or should I go now?”  Jobs come and go, but there is something to be said for stability.  Even more than that though, is happiness and fulfillment.  I miss my Grandma, my parents, and my brother and his family.  I’m an aunt for crying out loud!  I totally want to be the cool Aunt too!  I also miss being closer to some dear friends in my hometown.  I wouldn’t want to live there, but being a few hours away would be kind of nice and I could definitely visit more often.

My kids are pretty open to moving, and my husband says, “It’s up to you…”  Great!  NO PRESSURE THERE, RIGHT?  This is one of those times when I sure would like a burning bush.  Why is Moses the only one who gets the bush?  I don’t get it!  So, as I pray for God’s direction on what our family should do, I’m going to stay put and continue to enjoy my time here.

I’ll keep you posted as to what we all decide, but in the meantime…I welcome your advice!

Until next time, keep sharing the hope!

#moveorstay #undecided #torn

Leave a Reply

