Shall We Dance?

As I sit here at my favorite Starbucks, my Beats Ear Buds are in, and ‘Bang Bang’ is blaring in my ears.  Ever since I heard this song on Dancing with the Stars the other night, I’ve been hooked!  Now if we only had a really great place to dance here in Oly I’d be all set!  Yes, I’m a Christian and I love to dance!

DancingMy parents used to square dance all the time when I was growing up, so I guess it’s in my blood.  My dad even took dance lessons from Arthur Murray Dance School when he was in the Air Force – he’s a really good dancer.  And yes, like all little girls, I first danced on the tips of his toes.  That wasn’t often though.  Of course, my grandparents were there too and I always loved watching them glide across the floor like two graceful swans at play.

And don’t even get me started on the movies about dancing – heaven forbid!  Richard Gere and Jennifer Lopez in ‘Shall We Dance’ – oh mama!  Yes, this 80’s chick fell in love with Patrick Swayze in ‘Dirty Dancing’, then with Danny Kaye in ‘White Christmas’, and again with Mel Gibson in ‘What Women Want’ with his Frank Sinatra dance scene.  I had to attach that one below…it’s just too good to pass up!

High school was all about the dances too wasn’t it? It was in the 80’s, that’s for sure!  Key club dances, Sweetheart, Homecoming, and the ever popular Prom.  Some of my dance dates were pretty nifty if I do say so myself…then there was the one that smelled like cats and had a personality of a bar of soap.  Not so much fun that one…

Later in life, it was dancing with my BFF at ‘Funky Town’ in KC, MO!  That place had it right – they played 80’s music for those of us that actually lived through those years and could appreciate it.  There were even guys dressed up in yellow suits like ‘Divo’ and they put on a lip-sync show that rocked the house.  The best part was that there were actually people our own age in the establishment…unlike today’s clubs where I feel like everyone’s mother.  That’s never good because then I feel the compulsive need to separate the couples that have absolutely no daylight between them.  A few years ago, some of us went to a local dance place after a holiday party and I was seriously the oldest woman in the room!  And not only that, a couple of us didn’t get the memo to bring a change of clothes…so I was also wearing my holiday party gown which I’m sure the ‘young-ins’ thought was quite funny compared the the tight jeans and short skirts that surrounded us.

Dancing.  It’s fun, romantic, emotional, beautiful, great exercise, and something I wish I could do more.  Do you dance?  Even if it’s in the privacy of your own bathroom, holding a brush and singing at the top of your lungs to Prince’s ‘Purple Rain…you at least have to dance to that!  I might take dance lessons  – I haven’t decided yet.  I hate going to the gym, so it seems like a great alternative.

I hope you dance…because you might just create a memory that will bring you a smile or a giggle years later at the exact moment you need it.

Well, thanks for stopping in for a coffee chat.  Until next time…enjoy the video! #DancingDiva #coffeechat @SandySinnett

Coffee2    Sandy (a.k.a. Javanut) 🙂

One thought on “Shall We Dance?

  1. Great Read! I like to dance and all those eighty’s songs, Oh! the memories I have. I have also thought if dance lessons. I used to Clog and square dance when I was a kid. It would be great to do again. I feel the same way when I have gone to a club. I don’t feel that old most times but that sure makes me feel it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

