I’m a ‘Hope Pusher’!

A ‘Hope Pusher’?  Yep!  That’s me…pushing the hope around wherever I can.  It’s all the rage these days – you should try it!  Just in the last month or two, I have seen more tweets, posts, books and blogs talking about ‘Hope’ than any other time I can remember.  Now, I did just write a book about hope, so maybe I notice it more.  Kind of like when you buy a new car, and all of a sudden everyone else on the open road is driving the same make and model you are, even though you hardly saw one before you made your big purchase.  It’s the same concept when I start to see cop cars everywhere.  That’s when I know I’m pushing the limits on my speed and my time is drawing closer and closer to the day when I’m awarded yet another ticket.  Yes, I have a lead foot…it’s a thing with me.

I never thought I’d start seeing ‘hope’ everywhere though – that’s a new one.  Last week, I was listening to Pandora and Danny Gokey’s new song, ‘Hope In Front of You’ started to play.  I couldn’t help but tune in to the lyrics and realized he was singing about reaching out for hope!  Goosebumps emerged, and I of course had to download it, and then tweet about it!   To my delight, Danny tweeted back to me and even said my book sounded great!  Now…I seriously doubt he’ll read my book, but I was thrilled for the tweet nonetheless.  Naturally, I had to follow him on Facebook.  He had just added a new post about hope – asking his fans to post a picture of someone who inspires them or gives the hope. #myhopedealer  So, I posted a picture of me and my son Ethan, because at 3 weeks of age, he almost died in my arms due to a rare syndrome called ‘Pierre Robin Sequence Syndrome’.  Today, you would never know that by looking at him.  God is my ‘hope dealer’ for healing Ethan and allowing him to live and overcome his birth defects.  If God is my ‘Hope Dealer’, then I guess that makes me the ‘Hope Pusher’.  Thanks to Danny Gokey for sharing your gift of song, and your post!  By the way, if you haven’t had the privilege of listening to Danny’s new song yet, just click here:  http://youtu.be/O5GFiDdGGGM

Back to the ‘hope’ sightings…yesterday, my husband and I took the kids to see Dolphin Tale 2 (I totally went to see it for Harry Connick Jr…not going to lie).  🙂  Anyway, it just so happened that the little dolphin that was rescued toward the end was named – yep you guessed it – HOPE!  And my favorite Hallmark series, Cedar Cove, that too has been sharing an enormous amount of ‘hope’ within the story lines lately.

The dictionary defines ‘hope’ as:  a feeling of expectation and desire for a certain thing to happen.  Did you know that there are 121 verses in the Bible that specifically reference ‘Hope’?  I Googled it…that’s what I do.  I think if it’s mentioned that often, it must be important.  My first book highlights how easy it can be to lose hope – as we all do from time to time.  Life has a way of getting the best of us sometimes and beating us up in the process.  My favorite verse though, is Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV)- “For I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord. Plans to prosper you, not to harm you; plans to give you HOPE and a future!”  It’s also the verse that is highlighted in my book.  A friend said to me not long ago, ‘Please tell me there is a plan floating out there somewhere.’  I simply replied, ‘I hope so.’  We all have the ability to hope – for something better, something more, for something different, whatever it is that drives us to keep going.  It’s in our DNA.  It’s the one thing we should hold on to even when it’s hard.

I’m a ‘Hope Pusher’ and proud of it!  I find my hope in God, and in others around me who fight every day to make this life better.  My best friend, Laura, celebrated 5 years cancer free since her diagnosis with breast cancer – she is a ‘Hope Pusher’ and inspires others around her to continue fighting and never give up hope.  October is Breast Cancer Awareness month, and between Laura and myself, and sharing her story in my book, Hope in the Rain, I think we’ll push Hope as far as it can go! #sharethehope

Thanks for sharing a ‘cup of hope’ with me today…come back again!

Leave a Reply

