My Birthday Blog

Today is my birthday!  It turns out I celebrate the SAME birthday as the incredible popular kid’s show…SESAME STREET!  You’ll have to Google that little fun fact and and do the math…I’m not giving it away that easy!  It was one of my favorites growing up and I have many fond memories of watching it with my brother and my mom.  Do you have a favorite character?  Mine has always been Grover, with Big Bird coming in a close second.  I like Grover for his auspicious grit and relentless drive to be everyone’s super hero, for his uncanny ability to make kids feel special and loved, his cute gravely voice and big pink nose, for his fun sense of humor, and of course for his beautiful blue fur – not too long, not too short.  groverSounds like the perfect man right?  Ha! 

I’m not sure what the Sesame Street crowd will be doing today, but I for one am starting my birthday out a little different that in past years.  First, I’m in my hometown of Illinois this weekend visiting my family…just me!  A mom’s getaway if you will.  So far, my morning has been filled with two of my favorite things – coffee and writing!  The rest of the day is unwritten as of yet, but I see a pedicure in my future and cooking with my mom to get ready for my Grandma’s birthday party tomorrow.  She will celebrate 89 years on Tuesday, and since I’m in town, we are going to celebrate her big day with a party!

This evening?  Well, that’s just for me and my wonderful girlfriends from high school.  We rarely get to see each other, and since three of us celebrate birthdays all within the 2nd week of November, we have planned an evening of fun, laughter, rehashing old memories, some good food, and hopefully a bottle of wine will be opened and shared too!

Birthdays are celebrated by some, but not by all of course.  I’m one that has always enjoyed my special day though.  It belongs ONLY to me (okay fine…and the thousands of other people who were born today), but it’s still MY day, unlike all the other sweet sixteenholidays that are shared with the masses and glamorized by commercial retailers.  My mom always made a big deal of my birthday and I guess she spoiled me a little by that, especially on my SWEET 16th!  She invited all my friends, decorated the garage, acquired a local band loved by many, and pulled off one of the BEST surprise parties I’ve ever had!  It was rather magical if I do say so myself and a night I’ll never forget. 

Well, that’s it for now – I have a fun day ahead!  Thanks spending a few minutes of my birthday with me today!  I hope your day is as special as you and I look forward to your next visit!

Leave a Reply

