Coffee with George

My morning started out with such good intentions of writing on my second book and getting past 40k words.  Good goals right?  I thought so.  Before I started my day however, I stopped by to visit a friend as I had promised.  George is about 89 (or 90…he’s very mysterious about his age) and I met him at Starbucks almost two years ago.  After passing each other every morning for a year, I decided to get to know him.  He just looked like someone who needed a friend.  At first, it was just small things.  A Coffeefriendly ‘hello’ or a ‘how are you’ as I passed by.  Then one day he invited me to sit and chat and we started to learn a little more about one another.  That was a year ago, and today, my coffee with George lasts at a minimum of 15 minutes before I head off to work and we’ve added an occasional Saturday visit.  George has no family nearby, and from what I can tell, I may very well be George’s only friend.  Outside of his friends at Starbucks of course…   🙂

Today’s visit lasted almost three hours.  When I arrived, I could tell he wasn’t feeling all that well and he was a bit wobbly.  His fridge was also empty, so I offered to take him grocery shopping, thus stepping a little bit further into George’s world.   He knew almost everyone we passed in the store at his local grocery, and they seemed to adore him as well.  He kept telling me how much he enjoyed having someone walk with him through the store and remind him of what he needed.  For that alone, I am glad I altered my course for today and spent time with him.

My visits with George make me miss my family and my Grandmother even more.  Moments like today remind me how precious my family is and over the last several years, I’ve missed out on many of those moments.  I’m not sure when or if I’ll ever get back home, but I do know my priorities in life are changing in that sense.  I’m grateful for coffee with George.  It’s very rewarding to know that I’m helping brighten another person’s life in a what is such a small thing for me, but has a very big impact on him.  It also reminds me to appreciate all the blessings I have and not to waste any more of my time on the things that don’t matter or make a difference to someone else in this life.

road1Where will your road take you today?  If your road takes you to a new place, I hope you take time to enjoy it and know that you are on that journey for a reason.  Even if you encounter a dead end, you can always turn around and find a new route to your destination.  And on your way, don’t forget to stop for coffee!  You may just find someone who needs a friend.

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

