Sandy’s Web

I love the movie, Charlotte’s Web.  I watched the cartoon version with my kids years ago and remember seeing a newer version featuring real animals/people.  That one was quite good, and both very touching.  The story is poignant – one of loneliness, abandonment, but most importantly and ultimately…a story of friendship, great sacrifice and unconditional love.

Driving to Evansville, Indiana for training earlier this week, I opened my sunroof to let the sun and warm air pour in on top of me, then cranked the music.  The skies were a little cloudy, but just enough sun poked out to bring a smile to my face.  The hour and a half drive through the countryside was exactly what I needed, bImage result for charlotte's weboth there and back.  I have NEVER seen so many RED barns!  Is that an Indiana thing?  A Hoosier thing?  Someone should enlighten me on that…  Regardless,  I imagine those barns are filled with hundreds of cobwebs both big and small, like Charlotte’s.  Her web was woven with such care and love for her babies.  It was their safe haven, their source of food, their hiding place, and more.  For me, they are a nuisance!  There is nothing I hate more than walking through a big cobweb when I’m outside…yuck!  LOL! And actually seeing a spider?  OH NO!  Not a fan!  My kids aren’t either, and even the oldest will scream like a girl if he sees one.  🙂   But I digress…

Music is always playing when I drive, but sometimes I need to turn it off and listen – just let my mind be still .  This recent road trip was one of those times.  It normally takes me a good 20 minutes or more to quiet all the voices in my head, but it took much longer this time.  I had to clear out a few yucky cobwebs that were taking over my brain.  Webs of pain, guilt, sadness, feelings of being overwhelmed, loneliness, stupidity, and finally…shame.   I won’t say I got all of them, because I know better, but I think I managed to destroy a few big ones that have kept me cocooned in a negative place.

Some of them sparkle though – we’ll call those ‘Sandy’s Webs’!  They shine even brighter after a nice, gentle rain when the sunlight catches a little drop of water still hanging on the edge, casting tiny rainbows on everything within its reach.  Those are the webs I’m most proud of.  Those webs are the love put into the home I’ve made for my kids and I as we start a new life in my hometown, curling up with my kids at night and laughing at YouTube videos, cooking dinner with my daughter as we laugh about random things, the friends I’ve made in my church and the community, the ability to hold my head high despite what others say or think of me, and still managing to write and publish another book.

Those webs are strong and less likely to break in the storm.  Those webs are tightly woven with God’s love and his strength.  You wouldn’t think of associating strength with a thin cobweb probably, but I think its more of the love and strength put INTO making the web…the beauty it can possess when its finished, and its purpose.  Yes, some need more support, some need to be completely rebuilt, and some even need to be destroyed.  But in the end, all are woven into our lives – the good and the bad – and make us the person we are today.

I hope you look at the webs in your own life, all of them.  Maybe do a little spring cleaning.  It’s never too late to clear out the ones that aren’t fulfilling their purpose and start over.  But leave the webs that make your life sparkle!  For those are the ones that we will cling to and make us smile.

Until next time…May your cup overflow with a latte of love, hope, grace, and a lot of faith!

Leave a Reply

