Mentee to Mentor

My writing mentor passed away two years ago this month, and I always remember him by reading a few chapters of one of his novels.  I can still hear his advice ringing in my head as I type the words of my new book…’passive vs. active voice’, or ‘description description description’.  He hated romance novels, but read every page of my novel and gave me more encouragement and hope than I could ever asked for.

I was blessmentoringimageed to have a couple of special ‘author moments’ happen this month as well, which directly related to my mentor.  The first was being able to speak with a young writer this week who is just beginning her journey as an author, giving her some of the same advice my mentor gave me.  She shared some of her novel with me to read, and although I am not near as qualified, it was nice to be asked and fun to give her direction and encouragement in her writing.  She is quite good, and I believe one day her novel will grace the shelves of a bookstore or appear online.  It seems I may be moving from mentee to mentor…and I think Gregg would be proud.

The second special moment was receiving an email from my mentor’s mother, whom I’ve stayed connected with since his death.  I mailed her a copy of my second book and she received it the same week Gregg passed.  She said she’s anxious to read it, and will be in touch again soon.  Her email lifted my spirits today, and that was a blessing of its own as today has been filled with my own personal loss of sorts.  I still miss Gregg’s words and advice, and hope he’s looking down smiling on my progress as an author.

I would be remiss if I didn’t at least give my mentor’s work a shout.  His very first novel was written many years ago, but is still available on Amazon.com.  Look up ‘Bob Nine’, by Gregg Haugland.  A fun, unique read you won’t soon forget! Cheers to you Gregg!  You are never forgotten…

Your Mentee

 

 

Leave a Reply

